Minnesota Lynx

Minnesota Lynx is a professional basketball team in WNBA or the Women’s National Basketball Team Association. The team is based in Minneapolis, Minnesota and is owned by Glen Taylor, who is also the owner of the NBA counterpart of the team – the Minnesota Timberwolves. The WNBA team was founded and joined WNBA in 1999.

2013 champsIn the 15 years of the team in WNBA, Minnesota Lynx has qualified to the playoffs 5 times. The team held 2 WNBA championship titles, first in 2011 and then in 2013. Some of the most famous players of the team are Katie Smith, Seimone Augustus, Lindsay Whalen, and Maya Moore. The team’s current coach is Cheryl Reeve whom took over as head coach in December 2009, after Jennifer Gillom.

Rough Start For The Team

Before winning the WNBA Finals in 2011, Minnesota Lynx has had rough first few years after joining in the 1999 season. The team has achieved best records while they also had the worst records in seasons. For more than 2 decades, the team was already handled by 7 coaches with Cheryl Reeve as the current coach. In 2008 to 2009, Minnesota Lynx had great starts for the season but cannot seem to finish well in the playoffs. The team was not able to enter the playoffs for 5 straight years.

First Championship Title

In 2010, the team experienced great changes and developments with the hiring of new coach, Cheryl Reeve, and the entry of new potential players. After 5 consecutive disappointing seasons, the managements made some good off season moves, trading and acquiring players from the 2010 WNBA draft. The team were able to acquire Lindsay Whalen from the Minnesota Gopher, Hamchetou Maiga, and Monica Wright.

After these off season deals, the Minnesota Lynx was declared the most-improved team in the 2010 season by the 8th Annual WNBA general manager poll.

championship ringsIn 2011 WNBA Draft, the team drafted Maya Moore. The joining of Maya Moore to the team led to speculations that the Minnesota Lynx is finally a championship contender for the 2011 season. As what most people and experts speculated, the team finished the 2011 season with a 27 – 7 record, which is the team’s best and also the best in WNBA history so far.
The team lost to the Phoenix on July 13 but after that loss, the team had a 9-game winning streak, which is already an all-time record for the franchise and the 4th longest streak in the history of WNBA. Most of the players were also selected for the 2011 Western Conference All-Star Team which included Maya Moore, Seimone Augustus, Lindsay Whalen, and Rebekkah Brunson.
After winning the western conference championship in 2011, the Minnesota Lynx sweeps the Atlanta Dream team in the Finals and finally achieving the team’s first title with Seimone Agustus as the Finals MVP.

Second Championship Title

In 2012, the team once again entered the playoffs up to the finals but lost to Indiana Fever in the WNBA Finals. The Minnesota Lynx got their 2nd title in 2013 after defeating Atlanta Dream in the 2013 WNBA Finals with Maya Moore as the 2013 Finals MVP.

Posted in Info | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on Minnesota Lynx